When It All Comes Back

Sometime around mid 2014, I just didn’t want to run. I would lace up, push start on my playlist, head out the door and turn around about three blocks later. I couldn’t explain why I just didn’t want to, but there I was.  I tried to push through it saying bad runs happen, but the next one will be better. I had to accept that this was me around running. 45 Ridiculous And Amazing GIFs Of Nene Leakes For Her Birthday

I signed up for the TC 10 miler in July thinking I would get back into the game. My workouts dropped to riding my bike to work and an occasional yoga class. Working out took a back seat. What didn’t was my level of drinking and eating. I put on 10lbs between a 5 week period. The only reason I knew was because I happened to get weighed twice in that period. At first I brushed it off as vacation bloat. After all, I had just got back from vacation. The truth, it wasn’t, I had put on the weight I lost the previous year.  It wasn’t an easy acceptance. I fought it thinking maybe I just needed to figure out the routine that did work. After all, I had been here before. I go between these numbers on the scale and never notice.  I hit a similar slump around running after my first half marathon and other points. The difference was this lasted for months, those lasted maybe a few weeks.  I think the biggest difference was before I didn’t always notice the weight gain. My clothes still fit, this time they didn’t. I knew that something needed to change, I just didn’t know how to convince myself to do it. Then I ran into the problem of the races I signed up for when I thought my previous motivators would hold true.

I completed the TC 10 miler, a 5k in Oregon Wine Country and The Living History Farms 7 mile trail run in Iowa. All were challenging and wonderful in their own ways.  None inspired me to start running again, if anything they told me my heart wasn’t in it anymore. When my sister suggested 2015 be the year of hiatus, I knew she was right.  I may do a 10k or a 5k but I won’t be forcing myself into them.  I’m just going to let it be. What I didn’t want to let be was the weight. I wasn’t happy with how I felt or looked. I needed something to change. I’ve enjoyed various class based work outs. The ones I had been doing through community ed were great. They motivated me and I enjoyed the routine built around them. However, they only occur during certain time periods. I would recommend them for anyone wanting to try a work out without committing to it. In Minneapolis, the classes are between 6-8 weeks and under $50 for the session. But this time, I needed something that I could commit to long term. At the end of October, I joined Lifetime Fitness. I’ve had mixed experiences with gyms and since the last one left a bitter taste towards them in my mouth, I was wary. However, after talking with several members and looking at their class schedules I decided to take the plunge. It also helped that a friend works there and was offering an introductory rate package. I have been going since and loving it. I’ve built a fitness routine around the class offerings at various gyms in my area.   While I’m not all the way to where I was or want to be.I’m back on my fitness routine. I’m back to finding what works and sometimes that means nothing at all.

Have you ever hit a work out slump?  What did you do to help get yourself out of it?

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Life, Workouts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

