Admit it, you love it

January, I set a goal to run 30 miles. I made it 22. I thought this was decent considering the record breaking temperatures we had here. School was cancelled several days due to extreme cold which is pretty rare in these woods. February has been better with finding a consistent work out grove. The weather is slightly better only because the temperature itself is staying above zero. Lately when talking to people about my workout routine, I keep coming back to my obvious love for my community ed classes. I’m taking two right now, Barre and Zumba.

I really love having my community ed classes. It really is true that having work outs scheduled makes you more likely to do it and stick with it. I don’t know if I would work out every Saturday without my Zumba class. Community education classes are a great way to test out fitness classes. Here in Minneapolis there is a wide variety of classes and locations.  In my experience, classes are taught by certified/trained instructors because the trainers submit classes and times to teach. This leads to a good variety of classes but it can also mean that your teacher leaves or stops doing it. The classes last a set number of weeks with a break in between sessions. The breaks depend on the time of year, the fall and winter is the biggest gap being from the end of November with the next classes starting the end of January. Even with these breaks, I look forward to browsing the next brochure for class offerings. Here is why, they are cheaper than gym memberships. There is no pressure to sign up for an expensive membership at a studio or sales pitches that typically happen with other work out offers(groupon, one week free, ,etc).  They provide the incentive/schedule to get to class, which doesn’t happen with work out dvd.

And no, I’m not being paid or given any incentive to write this. It just occurred to me the last few weeks that many people I know think of working out as either gym, dvd, or nothing. This is so far from the truth. There are numerous ways to work out that don’t involve a gym membership. It just takes exploring options and finding what works for you.

Here are some other interesting articles I’ve stumbled upon.

http://www.sparkpeople.com/blog/blog.asp?post=the_15_best_but_busters

The low grade misery of wanting to be thinner

Food is food

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

