Here we go again

I’m officially 30. It is really easy to let yourself get caught up in a number. 30, it rolls off the tongue with a certainty, even when everything else does not feel certain. The most amazing thing about your birthday, it makes you very aware, aware of friends, family, people in your life, the kindness of strangers when they wish you a happy birthday because they some how found out. The week following your birthday you feel burned out and a tad bit selfish. Selfish because suddenly, instead of feeling gratitude, you feel left out. You go back to normal. Your friends go back to normal, no longer are random strangers wishing you happiness. I image this is how people feel after most life events. You go from being the spotlight and back to just you. The other thing birthday’s bring? A change from your normal routine and food, lots of food. I can’t even think of how much I ate or drank in celebration. I savored and enjoyed the memories of it all. It’s not guilt but rather now transitioning back into normal.

My friend Danielle and I are both going to start the whole 30. The next 30 days we will be each others support system. Notice I didn’t use the word diet? It’s not a diet, sure it has similarities to a diet. It has a list of no foods(a rather long list) and it’s a set amount of time. But it’s not a diet. Why? There is not any calorie counting, the rules are more to help guide your eating, not restrict or dictate it. Most importantly, it eliminates foods that promote health issues and helps you identify what foods. I found a lot of success with this method in learning about how dairy impacts my body. If I had not eliminated it for a week, I would have never known what a world of difference it made removing it.  This is my second attempt at the Whole30. Last time I made it 12 days. My hope is that having a buddy will help. My challenge is that I will almost be done at Thanksgiving. I know it’s doable. I know that people have dealt with harder challenges or struggles. If my only problem is wondering how to say no to stuffing at Thanksgiving, I would say I’m doing pretty well.

I’m hoping by doing this challenge it will help get me back into a more healthy lifestyle. Generally, eating better inspires me to keep up with working out. Fall is a hard season here in Minneapolis for working out. You get spoiled at the beginning by perfect running weather. As it cools off the daylight starts slowly disappearing. Soon perfect running weather is replaced by dark mornings and thirty degrees. I let myself have a week off after the half marathon. A good move because my body needed it but now my mind is perfectly okay with letting it stay longer. This week I battled all of the things saying “oh it’s okay, you can start again….later” and just did it. Four work outs later I am feeling like I am slowly getting back into the groove. Business as usual and I plan on keeping it that way.

 

 

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Here we go again

  1. >_> heh… I’m not far behind you… Turning 30 in March. Like wine, it gets better with age lol. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

