Work Out

I love Jillian Michaels. 30 Day Shred was the workout I used during my first half marathon training. Completing 30 straight days of it was a 30×30 goal. I will spend time away from it, but ultimately I always come back to it. Wearing my heart rate monitor during my workouts provides me with a push. I become competitive with myself. By comparing workouts it shows me the different intensity levels they provide. I’ve can now compare running, zumba, strength training and yoga from my HRM stats, pretty nifty. Below is the break down of 30 day shred. Those of you familiar with it know it is not 42 minutes long. I spent the first 19 minutes doing 6 week 6 pack accounting for 190 calories. The remaining 23 minutes was all level 1 Shred burning 250 calories.

20131006-185828.jpg20131006-185800.jpg

Shred is similar to Zumba for me. My heart rate stays at a similar level, the calorie burn is about the same, and both mix up moves. There are differences, Zumba is usually to pop workout style music, lead by a certified Zumba instructor and time wise it’s around an hour long. Shred is lead by Jillian who provides commentary throughout the work out. If you find her annoying or don’t like her style, the workout won’t change your mind, there isn’t a mix up of music, and it’s only 27 minutes long.

If you haven’t done 30 day Shred, I highly recommend you give it a go. You can try level 1 for free on the Youtube channel BeFit.  I’m not being paid to endorse any of these things. I’ve just found that it has really helped keep me motivated into working out. Seeing results in your body is not always quick or easy. Seeing what you did immediately after a work out provides a sense of accomplishment and reward.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

