Running into Clarity

Sunday while out running, I was listening to the Jillian Michael’s podcast. Yes, I know, listening to a weight loss/fitness expert while out running? Hear me out, it’s around 45 minutes long. It is broke up into different segments and usually there is an interesting phone call from a listener. It provides the distraction I need but allows me the proper amount of zone out. I feel like an educated person once I’m done.  Anyway, after the usual amount of Jillian ragging on her producer, Janice, they finally got to the calls. Every show consists of 1-2 calls depending on what the person is asking. This episode the caller asked “when will I know that I’m done losing weight, I’ve reached the goal I set for myself which I based on a weight chart. However, I feel like I could still go down 10 lbs.” Jillian’s answer, your body has a natural stop point. You may not ever go past a certain weight. If you do   still lose weight your body reacts by being hungry all the time, crabby, and not fun to be around because you are starving yourself for a vanity weight. Instead of using the scale, go to your doctor and get a physical. If all your numbers like cholesterol, blood sugar and blood pressure are where they should be and you are a healthy weight for your age/height. Then anything more that you set for a goal becomes vanity sizing/vanity weight.

I almost stopped in the middle of my run. It hit me like a brick. Your body is very smart. It knows what it needs but often we ignore it because we think we know better. Your body talks to you, it tells you what it needs. If you need to weigh a certain weight, it will tell you. If you are not fueling it correctly, it will tell you.  If you are eating something that it doesn’t agree with it, it will tell you.

One of the biggest changes I made this year was eating meat again. My body changed for the better.  I feel better. My skin looks better. My mood is more even. All the positive things I wanted are happening because I listened to my body.

No matter where you are with your body. If you are looking to lose weight, maintain, or even gain, the biggest thing is listening to your body. It may take time to learn what that means for you. Listen, learn the differences between the message your brain is sending and the message your body is sending. Be patient, it will take practice. You will often get it wrong before you get it right. Keep the faith, it will come. But don’t let a vanity goal distract you.

 

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Life, Workouts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

