Food for Travel

I just returned from a quick weekend trip to Denver. I jetted off to visit Mile high for a Dave Matthews Band concert with Snoop Dogg as the opening act. I knew it was some where I needed to be. I convinced my fellow DMB fan and bff to fly in to meet me. I love traveling but I don’t love the bulge and tight pants that often happen after it. I also have yet to figure out why everything at the airport is 4,000 times more expensive. Here are a few tips to helping you stick to a budget and healthy food choices.

1. Bring an empty water bottle. TSA will let you bring an empty reusable water bottle with you. I bring my Nalogen bottle with me and fill it after I make it through. Some airports even have the fancy bottle water fountain making it easier to fill. This will help you stay hydrated while keeping that $3 in your pocket.

2. Bring Snacks. I recently discovered the joys of baby food pouches. Yes, it sounds weird. However, these are a great way of getting a quick snack that is low calorie and nutrient rich. Due to the packaging you also don’t need to worry about spills or spoilage. They are available in various flavors. I go for the organic brands available at Target. They retail around 1.25-1.79ish a pouch.  You may get weird looks from your friend or strangers but if you eat it at the airport, there will always be something weirder quickly distracting them. Other snack pack worthy of your purse space: Larabars, bananas, nuts, dried fruit and oatmeal packs.

3. Stay at hotels with free breakfast. This was my second favorite feature of our Denver hotel. They had fresh fruit and made to order omelets available. This one may seem simple but it when researching hotels, I was amazed at how many did not offer complimentary breakfast. A great breakfast is a great start to your day. It also means one less meal to budget.

4. Research the restaurants in the areas you are going. A little bit of online sleuthing is worth the time when you know ahead of time what places offering specials/happy hours and menus friendly to your needs. You can plan your meals around the times and know ahead of time where you are going to eat. This not only helps you make better choices but reduces the stress of “where to eat” when you are hangry(it’s a thing).

5. Hotel Amenities. Beyond free breakfast, will you have a fridge or microwave in your hotel room? If yes, that means additional snacks or things to bring along on the road trip. If not, it may mean unexpectedly throwing out food. Most rooms have a coffee maker, which  can heat water for oatmeal.  Remember, if you bring food eaten with utensils to bring that utensil.

I started using these tips after an unexpected 6 hour flight left me hungry and barely enough time to make my connection. I was starving when I landed. When you put yourself in a stressed state you are likely to make poor choices and overeat. I felt bloated for days from one weather delayed flight. Now, I carry snacks. I know I am prepared and my body stays happy. These simple tips require planning but your wallet and body will thank you for it.

 

 

 

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Food, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

