Zucchini and summer

The last two days have been unseasonably cold here. Yesterday I took the cold windy rainy day as a sign to save my 7 miler for another time. Weather is usually not a reason to delay a workout, if you wait for it to be perfect, you will be waiting for a long time. Combine the weather with my ongoing hip issue that flared again, since coming back from Savannah. My acupuncture appointment Saturday morning left me feeling better but I still wanted to give it time to sink in before testing out how I felt. I decided my work out would be two Jillian dvds. I did Yoga Meltdown and Killer Abs both at level 1. I love using Youtube to find work outs to try them out before purchasing. There is nothing worse than popping in a work out dvd and just hating it. Killer Abs is a sneaky work out. While doing it I kept thinking oh this is easy, but my abs disagree today.

This morning I set out for my weekly long run that should have been yesterday. The weather was perfect. The sun was out, cooler temperatures with minimal wind. I had some technical difficulties with my heart rate monitor and Map My Run. But at the end of it, I was feeling it. If I remember correctly this is my first run over six miles since the end of April. My training schedule is right on track for the half marathon I am doing the second weekend of September. I am hoping to make my sub 2 hour goal that I have been chasing since 2011. I got up on my podcasts of “This American Life”.  If you have never tried it, podcasts are great for longer runs. Typically they are around an hour(this will vary by topic/podcast), this American Life is a collection of stories presented each week by a selected topic. The format of how many stories varies with the topic but usually it is three.  Each topic can range from serious, funny, and heartbreaking.  You may get some strange looks from other runners if you start laughing while running but don’t let it deter you from trying it.

During my run I decided the perfect way to use up some zucchini I purchased at the farmer’s market this week would be chocolate zucchini bread.  I did just that. I followed this recipe from Elana’s Pantry(awesome paleo blog if you are into that sort of thing). I made a few adjustments to it. I used maple syrup instead of honey. I ran out a while back and I have yet to repurchase it. I added in cinnamon and cayenne pepper for extra flavor. I did not blend any of it in the food processor. I just mixed it like normal, the difference is that it becomes more textured. If you want it smooth like in the picture, use a food processor. I also made it in a slightly different pan. Just make sure to keep an eye on it as cooking times vary with the pan. Now I just have to figure out the best use for the remaining zucchini surplus.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Food, Workouts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

