Summer Crockpot Cooking

Currently, I am sitting in Savannah, GA where I have been for the last week.  I’m down visiting my sister helping her after the arrival of her baby boy.  I’m a bit out of my element here. Not just because of the baby thing, but also because it’s hot. Really hot, like 96% humidity hot, not MN “humidity”. MN humidity and GA humidity are two separate creatures and beasts that bring discomfort upon human beings. The main difference is that in Georgia the humidity will be at 96%, feel damp upon walking outside and there will be fog from it because that’s just how it goes. Minnesota humidity means that there is a chance of rain and the dew point is over 50.  I blame the 9 months of winter on this phenomenon. What I really hate about Georgia humidity is how difficult my training runs have become. I set out cheerful and full of hope. I return drenched, defeated, wondering why my body can’t just run like I want, the answer hot humid weather.

I’m trying to do meal planning, prep and freezer meals for my sister to have after I leave.  I’ve read over and over again how this is essential and helpful. I am out of my element because I rarely plan out meals. Usually I just buy a bunch of stuff with the idea of what I will make around it. It works for me, but I only cook for me. Trying to pre-plan meals for a family is a whole other routine. The other challenge is I don’t want it to be just pasta/cheese/meat or filled with process ingredients (like canned soup, spice packets, pasta etc) which is what a lot of them use. I don’t want to get up a soap box. I don’t care that other people use them within their cooking. I just don’t want to use it within mine. Which means a lot of recipes I’m passing over and the hunt is more time consuming then I hoped. The good news is that I have found a few that are easily modified or useable.

Black Bean Taco Soup-Modified by making my own taco seasoning, low sodium beans and tomatoes.

Pineapple Salsa Verde Chicken– no modifications needed

Shredded Chicken Taco Bowls– I used the premise of this recipe. I threw chicken in the crock pot, some chicken broth, cut up tomatoes, onions, a can of chipotle adobe peppers, and black beans. I used the same spices within the recipe. It was pretty delicious. I threw mine on top of lettuce for a salad. My sister rolled it up in a burrito. You could also throw it in tacos, lettuce wraps, or eat it alone.

All are made in the crock pot. You can throw all the ingredients in the pot, turn it on and come back to a home cooked meal. You can throw it in a freezer bag and make it later. The best part about these recipes are you can make it, freeze or freeze it and make it. You can add more or less to modify them to your family’s needs.

Now back to the hunt.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Food, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

