Day 9

Nine days, there are a lot of things I’m learning through whole30. I’m still learning what it is that makes me want to eat. Mostly, it’s stress and boredom. I also eat because I didn’t eat enough the first time. I’m trying to figure out portions, eating it slowly and mostly because my body really is signaling for it. Work is the hardest. I used to take coffee or food breaks in the afternoon to relieve stress. Now, I am finding new coping mechanisms like getting tea, running an errand or finding  someone to just vent to briefly.

I really thought alcohol would be THE challenge with this. I went to a party yesterday. I really wanted a jello shot. I really wanted a drink with my friends. Instead, I drank my water and left early. I still got to enjoy the event, see my friend’s new place and meet new people. Nothing was taken away from me because I didn’t drink. I didn’t feel left out. If anything it made me realize my fear of it is just that, a fear.

Also, by not drinking last night, I got to enjoy the morning today. I woke up at 7a.m. I ate a small breakfast, I ran 5.5 miles and am being productive. It’s a nice feeling. The better feeling, being able to fit into a skirt that hasn’t fit me since my marathon. It’s been almost two years since that skirt fit. Now, it fits again. It really does start with food. Like many say, you can’t exercise out of a bad diet. I’m still struggling with the food cravings. I’m still not past the I use food only for fuel and not emotionally. But it’s only day 9, it will come with time.

 

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Food, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

