End Day Three, Enter Four

Those that are not familiar with Whole30, the easiest way to describe it is a strict Paleo diet for 30 days straight. That means no dairy, no legumes, no grains/cereals, no sugar and no alcohol, for thirty days straight. The last two are the hardest in that before doing this I consumed them on a regular basis. Yeah, well, we all have our vices. Now generally speaking my diet is pretty clean. I’ve been trying to avoid dairy for the last few months because it and I just don’t get along. That was a difficult break up. ice cream sandwich gus gus

Yes, I would have attempted to marry an ice cream sandwich or crammed as much cheese as possible into my pie hole, back in the day. Of course, I’m not perfect so there are times when I think cheese or a ice cream would solve my problems and in it went. Then my skin would erupt and other things, overall it would remind me that it wasn’t worth it. After reading up on Whole30 I realized a whole system reset wouldn’t be a bad thing. Based on some of the portions I realized my hormones are out of whack. My body could benefit from less sugar. My poor, poor liver, bless it’s heart, well that could really use a break. Per the timeline, I read up on what to expect.

Day 1: Felt pretty good. I started on a Saturday. I had Arrested Development to keep me entertained but it did make me wonder, how on earth will I be social during this? So much of my social calendar revolves around drinks? yes. But this concern is turning out to be a bit premature. I’ll figure it out or enjoy a hermit life. Hell, it may be the only way to pay my grocery bill.

Day 2: Woke Up with a mildly annoying headache. This is typical. You’re basically in a food hangover and your body is mad.

Day 3: Nothing crazy, no headache. I slept well, I even woke up at 6 a.m. which I guess is a typical reaction to this. Your body gets better with sleeping and regulating when it needs to wake up. This was the second day I woke up earlier than expected. This is a change from the week before when I was binging on sugar daily and could not wake up before 7:30. It could also be the change in weather. Last week it was cloudy and rainy. This week sunny and beautiful.

I’ve been working out still and so far so good. It does warn that day 6 and 7 are sluggish. If that is the case for me I don’t mind have a few break days. My body is going through tough times and the less stress the better. I will say though at the end of 30 days.

french fries

But for now

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Food, Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

