Marching into Madness

February was a crazy month. I traveled to Florida twice. Once to the panhandle for the Pensacola Double Bridge Run. The second time, I went to Orlando celebrating my niece’s fourth birthday in Disney World. While in Orlando, I learned my Aunt passed away from her battle with multiple sclerosis. After landing in Minneapolis, I went home switching suitcases and drove to Wisconsin for the funeral. Before I knew it, March was here.

Losing a loved one is never easy. Watching the my aunt go from a healthy, full of life mother to being trapped in her own body, shocked me. MS is a difficult disease. It’s furry comes and goes, or comes strong and without apology. My grandparents have now lost two children due to it. It’s slowly taking away my own mother’s mobility and independence. Instead of wallowing, it reminds me that being your health really is your greatest gift. You control so much within your life. Your health isn’t always guaranteed but it should never be taken for granted.

When I joined Pinterest, one of my first pins was the image above, it spoke to me. It reminded me that even on my shittest run, I should be thankful. The simple motion of putting one foot in front of another is a privilege.  As I approach my first half marathon of the year, it has taken on a new meaning for me. Openly, I admit, I’m dreading it. I have not been putting in the effort for it. Today I ran 7 miles, the first time I’ve run that since the Pensacola. I have not run 10 miles in one run since September. Sure, I work out at least three times a week. I wasn’t winded when out running today. I don’t feel that my body is going to fail me. I know I can run the distance. I worry because my brain is actively telling me I can’t, slow down, give yourself a break. However, I know it’s just my brain not believing in my own strength.

But I just have to remember.

Rock and Roll DC, I’m looking at you, it’s time to hit sub 2:00 hours.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
Image | This entry was posted in Life, Workouts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

