#26

Another year has passed and my 30×30 list is making progress. Upon review of it there are goals that won’t be accomplished. I won’t finish my MBA. I won’t see Mardi Gras, yet. There are other goals that seem unattainable but still could be done like run a marathon in under four hours. Running a half marathon in under two seems doable but in my last three I haven’t done it. I’ve come close, 2:01 and 2:04, but also farther away at 2:19. I gave myself a break from races. My sister asked me to run a five mile turkey trot with her on Thanksgiving. It was a great race. For the first time, I ran a negative split. My last mile was my fastest at 8:32. Even better, I haven’t run an 8:30 mile in training so where that came from I don’t know but I will take it.  My work outs since have been hit and miss. Then last night I fell going down the stairs leaving myself a nasty bruise on my right butt check and scraped up arm. Modified workouts here I come.

The latest item I have to check off my 30×30 list is #26-Doing something with my nieces and nephew. After family thanksgiving, Black Thursday shopping(is that what it is is you start at 10pm?), Friday morning my sister and her husband headed off for Florida. They went to the Florida State/Florida game for their 10 year anniversary. While they went off to the warmth, I stayed at home with their two kids, two dogs(one mine, one theirs) and two cats. First, kids are exhausting. I have the utmost respect for single parents. Second, kids are both entertaining and frustrating little beings.  I did several various activities with them including going to Friday Night Fish Fry, a Wisconsin tradition. One of my co-workers commented upon hearing that I took my six and four year old kiddos to a bar, only in Wisconsin is that considered socially acceptable. I laughed and said well we were in the restaurant .  However, they do have a point. My other niece joined the fun for a few hours pre-fish fry. All three kiddos survived my watch. Saturday, we went to the local movie theater to watch Arthur Christmas. Sunday was spent on the Santa train. Monday was my day of freedom after dropping them off at school and daycare.

Upon my return to the cities and during my gig, I had several people ask me if I was getting my tubes tied. I’m leaving it up to another time to decide. I still don’t know if I see kids in my future. I frequently thought “why do people do this?” during the frustrating moments. Like when my niece wedger herself into a chair and I thought I was going to have to saw her out. I didn’t, and both the chair and my niece were fine. But in the more adorable moments and cute moments I found the reward. My boss often teases me about having kids because I’ve got “such a great mom voice”. For now, the only mothering I’ll be doing is with a beagle. Beagles I can handle.

 

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

