DIY face wipes

There are days when you don’t want to really wash your face. Clearsil wipes or another drug store brand variety assists your laziness but still get a clean face. The burn helps you know you were getting a “real” clean. I stopped buying them. They are expensive. They are filled with chemicals and plenty of things I can’t pronounce. It is that combination that made me feel like I could do without it. I also started reading more and more information about chemicals, hormones, how to treat your skin and how what you put on your largest organ(your skin) matters.  My face breaks out, it has for a while. It is a point of contention. It affects how I feel about me. I’ve tried a lot of things to get it under control. I went on birth control, it helped but the other side effects were not worth it. I went to the dermatologist but it only worked for a short period of time and the prescription was expensive. I then tried Proactiv, nothing. I mean Proactiv I had high hopes for look at all the celebrities it’s helped! Still, nothing

I wanted to figure out a natural skin care routine. I figured if the chemicals failed me, maybe I should figure out what my body was telling me.  I was also tired of spending a lot of money without results. With the natural routine I wanted to find a balance between results and cost.   I started use Dr. Bronner’s soap with tea tree oil. I wash my face once a day, usually in the shower. Then I use my DIY face wipes in the morning or at night(opposite of when I wash my face).

The wipes are easy. All you need to make them is the  following items.

  • a clean container that closes(mason jar, cleaned out cottage cheese container, etc)
  • Witch Hazel, astringent
  • tea tree oil or other type of essential oil like lavendar
  • cotton rounds

Add all the ingredients into the container, seal and let the cotton rounds soak up the goodness. Depending on the size of your container your wipes may saturate a lot or a little. Add more witch hazel until you get the level of wetness you desire. All  of it can be found at Target You don’t need to order it from various websites or go on a witch hunt. Tip, the witch hazel is next to hydrogen peroxide at Target.  You can also get the tea tree oil there. It is a bit pricey but  you will only use a few drops. I’ve had this bottle going on two years. The other benefit is depending on how many cotton rounds you buy, you have enough for multiple batches.

While my skin still has it’s moments I feel more in control of what I am putting on it. The other benefit, it’s friendly to my wallet.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
Image | This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

