My Project Runway version of a Halloween Costume

Tim Gunn ends each visit to the work room with his catch phrase “Designers, make it work”. I apply this to various situations, frequently. It’s simple. No matter what hot mess you’ve gotten yourself into, no matter what odds are working against you, make it work. Recently, I realized for the first time since childhood I actually need to try when it comes to my Halloween costume. Past years, I’ve put on a pair of glasses and declared myself Tina Fey. Last year I broke down and actually paid money for a costume, I was a beer girl. Recently I wore it to Oktoberfest. I needed to get my money’s worth.

This year is different. The party I’m going to is huge, it’s also in Denver. My costume needs to be portal, fun, but not something 45 other girls are going to be in. After the costume realization I started the quest. Searching Google, consulting Pinterest, even polling people on what they were going to be. I know enough about Pop culture to know who Honey Boo Boo is, but not enough to know the “hot costume” of 2012. I also wanted to repurpose this ridiculous leotard I bought for my chair dance performance show case. The question was how. First I thought peacock, simple enough. Quickly fading into ideas past when I realized how many feathers it would take and that wasn’t packable. Even if I made a peacock tutu, it wouldn’t really go with the black leotard unless I did some serious bedazzling. Then I thought well maybe I could whip up a Katniss, from Hunger Games, costume from it. That went out the door when I realize how much leather and hair extensions it would take. Sitting in bed after I made this sweet “fire” tutu, I thought, that could be the Queen of Hearts. The idea was born.  After more Google searching, such great reality stars such as Kim Kardashian, Alexix Bellion(Real Housewives of Orange County) and Lois Lane herself (Terri Hatcher) have all worked the outfit. Except, mine has a special element of made with love.

My hat was made with part of a wine box and toilet paper roll. It’s a tiny top hat. I love it. 20121009-215422.jpg The base I cut from a sturdy cardboard (box wine). Then I painted it and added the red glitter using mod podge. The trim is ribbon hot glued from a Christmas Ribbon kit I bought last year on clearance. I mod podge the lace hoping to make it more sturdy for a different idea. That didn’t work. I added it as a detail. The card is from a deck I never use, just hot glued on at an angle. The other part of the hat is the cardboard of paper towels, cut an taped together to make it wider. I painted it, added a black/green glitter. The feathers are just glued together then I added the felt heart detail. It helps secure the base of the feathers and adds another heart detail. I plan on attaching the hat to a rhinestone headband I ordered off Forever 21.

I’m still working out the rest of the details to my costume. The best part about making my costume means I control the slut factor. I don’t need to trust someone else and their vision. I create my own. My Queen of Hearts costume won’t win the costume contest. But it will have won my creativity and heart. A prize worth much more.  The downside, I will have glitter in my apartment until probably June 2013.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Project Runway version of a Halloween Costume

Leave a Reply

