Push Restart

It started with a pair of ripped jeans. A trip to several stores, disappointment but a pair of new jeans. It wasn’t quite the wake up call I needed. Pulling out a skirt that hasn’t fit in over a year, snaking it on, then realizing how much it really doesn’t fit. That is a wake up call. I knew the skirt wouldn’t fit. I bought it while training for a marathon. Some people gain weight while training, I lost inches. Those inches are back. It’s not a surprise. My food tracking disappeared, cookies, candy, large portions, and various other vices came out in full force without thought. I know better. I know my body. I’ve struggled with finding the balance between food, exercise and rest.

I am running a 10 miler on Sunday. I signed up for it a few weeks back. I’m a little worried about it. I know I can complete it physically. Mentally, it’s going to be another story. I have not ran that distance at this weight in almost two years. And when I did it then, I trained. If the race triumphs, it will be the necessary push I need.

The other part that I am recommitting to is tracking what I eat. I use sparkpeople. I like the app, it is simple to use. I like that it’s web based as well. If I’m near a computer I can log in, if I’m not I can use my phone. The only part I struggle with is if I make a new meal it’s not easy to enter it from my phone. Overall, I find it easy to use. You can search food and what other members enter shows up too. This really reduces what you need to enter. The downside is that if you are not specific enough you can spend a lot of time scrolling. The other strange part is if you enter something in really specifically, it may not find it. For instance if you entered So Delicious Coconut Milk unsweetened, it wouldn’t find it. But if you enter So Delicious, it will. Once you figure out the search function it’s pretty simple. I would recommend it if you are looking for a way to track food.

The button has been pressed, restarting now.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Life, Workouts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

