Eating things

I ate a bratwurst this weekend. Yes, I consider myself a vegetarian. Yes, sometimes I try to eat vegan.  Before March 2012, I ate just fish and seafood occasionally, then I started going to acupuncture. While doing that my acupuncturist recommended I eat red meat, if I felt comfortable with it. I had considered it for several months before decided I was going to eat a cheeseburger. I did. It was pretty good. However, I didn’t feel the need to start eating meat again. Right now, it’s easier for me to just not eat it. I don’t like how meat is produced, I don’t like how far removed it is from a natural state. Blame it on Jillian Michael’s podcast combined with Michael Polan and other style books (like Barbara Kingsolver’s Food, Animal, Miracle). I just don’t like how most meat comes to people’s plates for a variety of reasons.  The other side of it, it’s expensive. Even cheap supermarket meat is expensive. I continue to eat a mostly vegetarian diet because I like the health benefits. I like it.

However, because so much of the American culture is built around meat. It can make for times when the only thing I can eat is a vegetable. When you are hungry, sometimes that is okay. Othertimes, you might as well eat nothing at all. I’ve also taken to having snacks in my purse. This is all fine to a certain point. Recently, I’ve taken away dairy and I’m not always impressed with what that brings me. From that, I’ve decided I might want to start introducing meat back into my diet. However, I don’t really remember what a lot of it tastes like.  I’ve started gradually experimenting with it. Since I’ve at the cheese burger, a grilled chicken sandwich and now a bratwurst. Honestly, I don’t have a strong feeling one way or another towards the taste of meat. I do have a strong feeling with my identity of not eating meat. It’s hard to give that up. It’s hard to make people remember and cater to not eating meat. I don’t like being the person that stands out because of what I don’t eat. No one questions what people do eat. You rarely hear a friend say OH YOU ARE GOING TO EAT THAT? But when you don’t eat something suddenly it’s “WHY DON’T YOU EAT IT?”.  I find myself doing that when people tell me they don’t like a vegetable or fruit I love.

Anyway, so I ate a bratwurst. It was okay. I don’t foresee another one anytime soon.  But as my Uncle said, one a summer is fine.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

