Foods in the Hood

I broke up with dairy. I really struggled with that decision, two months of struggle. I didn’t want to just give up on it, it’s always been there for me. It’s probably the reason my bones are rock solid. A few years ago I gave up on milk except in lattes. After lattes hit this astronomical price of $3.50 for a SMALL or a Tall as a major chain likes to call it, I switched to just drip or a fancy Americano when I want to seem snobbish. Speaking of cost, Starbucks has their reward program, where if you use a registered giftcard after a qualifying point, you earn free drinks. They mail you these little free drink postcards. My new goal is to see how high I can get my free drink total. My new high total, $6.81, for one latte. Yes, nearly seven dollars for one drink. Now you understand why lattes became a less than important item for me to drink. I cut out almost all dairy except cheese and even that is pretty rare these days. I haven’t bought cheese in weeks. The biggest challenge to this is eating out. Now, I don’t eat meat and I don’t eat dairy, but I’m not a vegan. I still eat honey. I still eat eggs. I get great eggs from a co-worker that has chickens. These eggs are amazing. The biggest challenge is explaining why I don’t constrain to the boundaries of “vegan”. Or explaining why I had to break up with dairy without getting overly detailed. I love cheese. I get why people think it’s crazy to give it up. I will just say, the benefits are worth it more than cheese.

So with that comes a new way of cooking, new ways of exploring food. Here are two recipes that rocked my world this week.

Zucchini Boats from Daily Garnish. I didn’t follow the recipe exactly, I added in mushrooms, green pepper, carrot, and left out the tomatoes. I also just used garlic, no other fresh herbs. I used rice vinegar with lemon juice instead of the champagne vinegar. I also threw in some left over garbanzo beans I needed to use up. Either way, delicious, filling and perfect, seriously go make them now.

Peanut Butter cookies from Texanerin. I pulled these from Pinterest. My curiosity and PMS led me to make them today. I subbed agave for the honey. They are delicious. You could also sub in carob chips if you don’t want to use chocolate chips, keeping them truly vegan. They are grain free, dairy free and delicious.

I bought kale from the farmer’s market today. If you have a kale recipe that is divine, let me know.

 

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

