Oprah Better for Ya brownies

20120708-211101.jpg

While browsing O magazine last month I stumbled upon this “Make a Better Brownie” recipe. I could not find it online when trying to show my sister. However, there are several versions of it easily found on google. It’s a very easy to make dish, requiring a pan and food processor. That’s right, you make it entirely in your food processor.

My only complaint is the cost of ingredients for this dish. It calls for four avocados, 2 cups of pecans/walnuts(you can use either), agave syrup, and dates. It also has cocoa and other items that you likely would have on hand. I do understand most vegans or those pursuing a healthy lifestyle would have agave and perhaps the dates and nuts. If you don’t, it can quickly add up. I purchased 8 avocados from the farmer’s market for 5 dollars. The pecans ran me another $7. Dates are typically not cheap to buy, if you get them at Aldi they are around 3 dollars a bag. If you get them from the grocery store bulk area they can run upwards of $7/lb.

They are good. I greatly enjoyed them. The “frosting” has a good flavor/texture. I added cayenne pepper and cinnamon. I did not put the suggested orange zest or vanilla extract and added a smidge of coconut milk to thin it out.

These brownies are easy to make. They take about 3 hours freeze time to properly harden. However, they are delicious.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
Image | This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

