#5 30 Day Shred Challenge

When I wrote my 30 by 30 list I added complete the 30 day shred. I bought this DVD two years ago as a a way to incorporate strength training with half marathon training. I once did for two weeks straight. The idea of doing it everday, or any exercise everyday does not appeal to me. What does is challenges, knowing that other people have done something and I haven’t but could, motivates me. It is what made me run a marathon. It works well with fitness but not other areas of my life.

I picked June because it is 30 days long. I didn’t need to worry about any planned travel. I was feeling burnt out after the Fargo half marathon, a break without scarificing the fitness level I built up was needed. I read around on the interweb on how to complete the challenge because Jillian just advises you to “progress” as you want. I needed a structured plan for completing this. Several blogs and ehow recommend doing 10 days at each level. That sounded like a solid plan, enough time to feel comfortable in the moves but not too long where you turn the tv off because you can’t look at another smirk from Jillian telling you “I designed it that way”.  These same sites recommended that I take my measurements because THEY WILL CHANGE, out came my measuring tape and in went the dvd.

First, if you are familar with the format of 30 day shred it’s about 25 minutes long between warm up, the work out and the cool down. You do three circuits, each circuit is broke out between 3 minutes of strength, 2 minutes of cardio, and 1 minute of abs. You do not need anything beyond a set of weights, I recommend 3lbs. If you have hard wood floors and no carpet, use a yoga mat or a towel to give your knees a break.

Second, you can do this work out everyday, assuming that you’ve talked to your Dr. or are fairly familar with working out. I’m not a fitness expert or a Dr., so do not take my advice as such, I mean that, this is just a review of MY experience, it is not a recommendation or endorsement.

Alright, now that I’ve covered that on to the experience. It was tough some days to motivate myself. I found the second level the hardest of the three. I think it’s the variety of plank based moves. Level 3 is challenging but it is more jump/body weight exercises where as in level 2 it’s plank and then weights. I have no idea why but the v fly with squats make me want to cry almost every single time. I did not experience overwhelming soreness preventing me from doing it each day. I did have days where my shoulders were sore but it wasn’t hobbling up and down the stairs like I have experienced after half marathons. You could do Shred in the morning and a run at night if you wanted to be really motivated. The shred will help build muscle and that will help your running, at least it did for me. I went on one run during the 30 days and I felt a huge improvement. I’ve gone back to running after completing shred and my legs feel strong. My lungs are fighting me at times, but that is because a 70 dew point index outside.

I didn’t lose weight while shredding. I also did not change my diet. My “juice” box and chips were in full swing. If you follow the meal plan or a clean diet, you may get more benefit. I don’t know because I didn’t. I still drank and ate as I wanted while shredding. I also didn’t have a huge change in measurements. Where I did experience a change was my legs and hips. My thighs went from 21/22 to 20/20.5 respectively and my hips went to 37.5 from 38.5. My waist and arms stayed the same, but my arms did see some toning.

Would I do it again? Maybe, I did really enjoy the benefits of working out everyday. I like how much better I feel during running. If you want see really motivating results just google it, plenty of bloggers have covered their progress.  For now, I will do it from time to time while training for the half marathon in August.

 

 

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Workouts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

