8 Weeks

Day 20: I’ve shredded for 20 days straight. Tomorrow I move to level 3. I am not sad level 2 is past. It, in my opinion, is the worst of the three. My weak girly arms are just not made for  plank without rest. Level 2 is my nemesis. I always thought level 2 was challenging because I didn’t properly build up to it and just dived in assuming I was fit. This is wrong. I spent 10 days at level 1, hoping, praying and building up muscle to prepare me for level 2. It didn’t really do anything to prepare me. I collapsed, floor covered in sweat, more times than I care to share. The other disappointing part is that I was hoping by this point I would be able to brag about some large noticeable change. My hips may have nudge down a bit, but otherwise my measurements remain unchanged. The scale remains the same.

The next ten days I am going to push it. Next week I’ll build in more cardio as I start half marathon training. I ran once this month. It was an awesome run! I’m not sure if it was the 17 day break, shredding or what but I destroyed that run. I ran 3 miles in 25 minutes. Sure, I won’t be asked to join the 2012 Olympic team but I felt great during it. I pushed it, I ran for the pure joy of running Honestly, I haven’t felt that way during a run since I bought my first pair of Mizuno Wave Rider 15s and that was February. Four months….?! Four months, a half marathon, a new pair of shoes and 17 days of shred later the joy returned.

Now as I look forward to August 19th, the question becomes how do I keep momentum going and train for this race. My goal is sub 2 hours, I am 4 minutes off this goal. During Fargo I ran a sub 2 pace until after mile 6. The last 7 miles are where I need to prepare, where I need to push, where it all comes together. I want a training plan that is going to reflect that need. I am planning on going from Shred to Jillian Michael’s Killer buns and thighs. During Fargo, my quads started to feel jello like. I think by building up to at least 15 miles and incorporating in JM I can achieve this. I’m still building out the plan but hopefully it gets me the results I want.

Once I get the training plan ironed out, I will post it.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Life, Workouts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

