A Bookshelf Makeover

This weekend I took the plunge and gave a bookshelf a new look. There are two in my apartment. One had paint all across the top, now it’s a beautiful piece adoring my living room. If you ever consider tackling furniture restoration, do yourself one favor and buy a power sander. It will also impress others that you own a power tool. They are fairly cheap. I had plenty of options at Home Depot around $30. Sanding is a must. Without it, the paint will chip off. I found this out when I decided I was over sanding and left one inside area unsanded. It currently is missing paint from when I put the shelf back. Therefore, I highly recommend spending the money and time to sand.

After sanding, I picked out a color and headed back to Home Depot. When researching restoration blogs, I learned that Behr makes a paint with primer in it. This was what I decided to buy. I really liked the end color choice. Pencil Gray, I thought it was going to turn out more of a dark granite slate but it almost looks blue. The other great thing is that if you working on a smaller space like this, save yourself money, get the sample size. It’s around 4 dollars and it will give you enough paint to finish your project. I bought the quart size container and it barely looks used. I do have another bookshelf that will be getting a make over and maybe a night stand. However, if you have just one piece to paint, buy the sample size.

I slapped a few coats of paint. While waiting, I took mod podge and wrapping paper to finish the shelves. I found this idea from Pinterest. I thought it was a good way to break up the space and add dimension. I also liked it because I didn’t have to sand the shelves. I purchased the wrapping paper from Party City for around $5. Still cheaper than contact paper but you may be able to get it cheaper at Wal-Mart, Target etc. I don’t buy it on a regular basis but I did know it was cheaper than my plan to buy paper at Michaels. I first cut a the wrapping paper to match the shelf. Then I put mod podge on one end of the shelf, applied the paper, went around the border until I had done it around the entire rectangle.

The finished product. I bought the middle shelf storage pieces from Home Depot. Martha Stewart Living, they come in a variety of colors. I loved how they fit directly on the shelf and add a pop of color . The other selling point, they are $7 a pop.The piece on top I owned already.

The project took a day to complete. If I don’t include the cost of the sander the total cost to piece breaks down to the following

 

  • $5.00-wrapping paper
  • $5.00 Mod Podge
  • $15.00 paint

I really love it. It gives additional storage and charm without overwhelming the room. It was a simple project that could be adapted for a kid’s room, bathroom or other space in the house.

 

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

