Thirty days

Thirty days straight of Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred started June 1st. I picked June because there are thirty days. The convenience factor motivates me, but also because after finishing the Fargo half I realized my training plan with just running wasn’t enough. The last three half marathons I’ve completed, are all just shy of under two hours. Now, I will openly admit, my training plans are loose at best, especially for the ones I did at the end of last year.My excuse is my body can handle the distance. I know what to expect in the race and mentally I can push myself even when my legs hurt. After doing Fargo, I realized that yes, that is good enough to complete the race in a decent time, but it’s not going to be enough to reach under two hours.

My 30×30 list asks me to do 30 days straight of 30 day Shred. I signed up for a half marathon in San Diego in August. I will add state nine, but I will hopefully also add sub 2 hours. Killing three birds in one plan. I am going to get a jump start on training by doing the 30 days of shred. My fitness isn’t terrible at this point. I am currently heavier than I was last year at this time. That is okay though, at this time last year, I couldn’t walk because I ran my first full marathon. It was a great accomplishment but even then I didn’t recognize what it took to get there.Now I do and I miss it. I want those legs back. I want that stomach back. But also, I am going to be in San Diego in August. California is beach capital USA, people are always bikini ready there. Minnesota is right next to the dairy/beer capital aka Wisconsin, we spend six months hibernating in a frozen tundra. If I want to fit in with the locals, it is going to take work.

This is good though. Summer brings out the desire for fresh fruits, salads and spending time outside. It also brings drinking on patios. My food intake is pretty healthy but it has room for improvement.

Tortilla chips are my go to snack right now. Since trying to eliminate dairy my sweet tooth is moving to a crunch/salt tooth. I should just buy Frito Lay stock at the rate that I am buying their delicious Tostitos. I can hear Jillian screaming at me while I write this. Honestly, there are worst things, like cheese puffs. But I still shouldn’t down a bag of chips a week. But they are delicious. I’m not giving them up, but I should probably reduce my consumption rate to one bag every two weeks.

Enter training enemy number two. Box wine. While many scoff at box wine remembering the 8 dollar bargain Franzia that made you feel like you were dining on an adult juice box. The feeling it left you with the next day would not be described as worth it. Since box wine entered a classy era not only increasing the dollar price tag but also the quality. Bota Box is approximately 4 bottles of wine in one box running between 17-22 dollars. I find the best liquor store to purchase it at is the one on Chicago and Lake in Minneapolis. However, while I enjoy my adult juice box that I wish just came with a giant straw, I do recognize that it isn’t working towards my fitness goals.

I am not the first person to do thirty days straight of 30 day Shred. That is how the program is designed. Multiple bloggers have chronicled their journey. Every single one tells you to take your measurements before starting the challenge because even if the scale does not move, your measurements will. I did this.

Currently

  • Hips: 38 inches….I may have been pulling tightly on the tape and this may be closer to 39 but vanity always wins.
  • Left thigh: 21 inches
  • Right Thigh: 22 inches
  • Both Arms: 10 inches (why my arms are consistent where my legs are not, I would like to blame on a peg leg but it’s not true)
  • Waist: 28 inches

Those are the only measurements I took. I don’t care about my bust. It’s not going to be influenced in the ways that other areas will be. My body shape is what fashion magazines classify as “pear”. I thought about measuring my calves but they seem lean enough. At the end of June I will report back. No, I won’t be posting inspiring before and after pictures. If you want to see those, I suggest googling it. Okay, maybe I will if the vanity side of me takes over and really LIKES the results.

As I’ve mentioned before, I don’t diet. I really enjoy exercise and I eat fairly well minus my two above shout outs. I’m not going to go crazy calorie counting while doing this. I’m not going to start an all fried food meal plan either. I’m going to eat how I am and see how this Shred thing works out. I should also mention I plan on laying low on the running. This has worked out for the last three days. I can’t say that will hold constant. I do walk my dog twice a day, one walk is usually at least a mile. So other exercise is included but it’s not the main focus.

As of day three I’m holding on strong. My body notices we are doing SOMETHING, but it’s not sore. I am still walking which is more than I can say for this time last year.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Life, Workouts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

