A Delicious Accident

20120529-212014.jpg

There is a Golden Girls episode in Season 6 where Sophia has to pass a recipe down to festival queen or an heir. When explaining the recipe process, she notes that she added wine to it. In the quick timing humor of Sophia’s line, quickly after delivering that line, she goes “A delicious accident”. That is how I felt about this dish tonight. I didn’t set out thinking I was going to basically just make a salad/salsa type dish.

I had just finished half assing a workout and I was hungry. I didn’t feel like going through the effort of putting rice/quinoa or whatever in the rice cooker and then deciding what else to add. What I did know was that I had mango in the freezer and some other random vegetable items. I decided that black beans and mango were going to be combined with cilantro.  I took a look in the fridge grabbed the cilantro when I decide yep a red bell pepper is going in, oh and green onion.

If you want to replicate here is what you’ll need.

  • mango chunks
  • black beans-cooked
  • red onion diced
  • red bell pepper diced
  • cilantro chopped
  • green onion chopped

No cooking is needed just throw it all in a bowl together. You could also add avocado, lime juice or garlic. If you don’t like red onions, you could easily leave it out and still have enough flavor to carry it. This can be served over rice, with chips, in a burrito, or eat alone. It would also be a nice add on for shrimp, chicken or a white fish like tilapia.

This is an ideal summer dish that will keep poolside, and saves you the hassle of slaving over a hot stove.

 

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
Image | This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

