The Hardest Meal-Brunch

Brunch is the most non-vegan friendly meal. Menus clutter with cheese, eggs, pastries filled with cream, items dosed in butter, and so forth. I recognized this dilemma a few weeks back when first setting forth on the vegan experience. My company offers bagel Fridays in which they provide a wide assortment of bagels and cream cheese varieties. If bagels are not your thing, they also have donuts, muffins and fruit. Sure, I could walk up the three flights for a granny smith apple or not quiet ripe orange but it doesn’t have the same lure as a the bagel. I partly blame this on my ability to equate the cost of food from my childhood and now semi adulthood. I want the most value to an item, even if it is free. A granny smith apple at most will run you one dollar. Unless you are in airport, they it can get the desert island ripe off price of maybe two dollars. A bagel with cream cheese at minimum will be two dollars and more likely right around three dollars. This puts me in a weird conundrum, my frugal side competing with my healthy side.I found it’s easier to skip bagel Friday, resist the temptation, but then I don’t even get anything for free. Which seems to be the worst possible scenario and yet, it’s the easiest. If I go up to the 9th Fl, I will walk away with a bagel smeared with cream cheese, not an apple. Staying away doesn’t lead me into temptation and I can just leave the guilt up on the 9th floor.

Brunch in a restaurant with friends doesn’t give me this ease. I end up ordering something with eggs, cheese, or something like a muffin. I do realize that there are places that are vegan friendly. This isn’t really something that is common, even in Minneapolis. I like the social environment of going to brunch with friends. A quick Google search lead me to different places that may meet the needs. Now, the hard part, convincing your friends to try some where new.

Along with my Google love, I really love this new camera app I downloaded to my phone this week. Camera + is like Photoshop meets instagram. It gives you the ability to take pictures, edit them, add effects and then save it to your camera roll or upload it to your favorite social media. I highly recommend it. Normally, I do not pay money for apps but this was well worth the dollar spent on it.

 

 

 

 

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

