7 years later and other recent trends

Confessions on a Dance Floor is Madonna’s album from 2005. Seven years later I bought my fourth song from the album. Last year I discovered “Hung Up”, “Get Together”, and “Jump” and put them all on regular rotation on my running playlists. Today I was on the hunt for music. I scored an iTunes gift card at Target on sale for $13.50 giving me $15.00 of credit. I figured my playlist could use some new jams right before my race this weekend and four hour drive to Fargo. I toyed with the idea of doing an audiobook but decided instead to hunt for new music. After reading a few different playlists or rather attempting to because Runner’s World has this annoying feature where unless the athlete being interviewed specified the artist it only gives the song title, unless you click the launch feature. However, that requires iTunes, not a huge deal but if you don’t have iTunes on your computer, like my work laptop, it leaves you having to bust out your McGuyver skills or just move on to something else. I stumbled upon a playlist with marathoner Deana Kastor, mentioning the Madonna song “Sorry”. The particular one she was referring to was a remix by her favorite DJ. I assume this is the Paul Oakenfold remix but I didn’t investigate it with an iTunes loaded computer. Instead I just decided I didn’t want the remix and purchased the album version. Seven years later, I am enjoying it and the other songs from the album.

Today I received my Amazon order of Warrior Sun protein powder.  I purchased the Vanilla Warrior Blend. I decided to go ahead with it even though it’s typically more than I would shell out for a protein powder. What made me go ahead with it was that I liked that it’s a blend of real ingredients. According to their website here is list of ingredients for this blend.

Sunwarrior Proprietary Protein Blend (Raw Organic Cranberry Protein, Raw Pea Protein, Raw Organic Hemp Protein), Natural Fibers (Fenugreek, Konjac, Guar), Organic Vanilla, Organic Stevia, Medium Chain Triglyceride

One scoop equals 16g of protein which is on par with muscle milk, but it has almost 50% less calories. The Muscle Milk flavor I enjoyed was 150 per scoop with 16g of protein, where as this is 84.  Yes, I know that 50% of 150 is actually 75, but a 10 calorie range is still pretty awesome. I look forward to testing it out in various recipes. The blogger Fitnessista features a protein pancake recipe using it that I can’t wait to test out. I mention this not because I had to use this particular blend but because my previous protein powder was chocolate hemp and I just didn’t feel that would mix right where as I think the vanilla will.

Speaking of baking, I made some awesome vegan desserts this weekend. I was on the hunt for a pumpkin swirl bread recipe where I could make the dough using my bread maker. I found an awesome recipe a few months ago, then promptly lost it. I have the address saved on my work computer, but not my home computer. I couldn’t remember the name of the blog and my google searches were turning up a lot of various pumpkin bread recipes but none matched. Then finally, I stumbled upon one that I felt was a close enough match to what I wanted. I don’t think I made the water hot enough because the dough didn’t really rise. I need to figure out the trick to how to layer ingredients into my bread maker. I usually end up with less than wonderful results and it annoys me. I didn’t just wait 1.5 hours to realize that I killed the yeast. I  salvaged it enough making cinnamon rolls. I used coconut oil instead of butter for the filling with brown sugar, pumpkin pie spice blend and extra cinnamon. Then I made vegan brownies using the recipe featured in Runner’s world June edition. It’s also on their website but buried five pages into the article about Scott Juracek. I made a few modifications like using dates instead of raisins and agave instead of maple syrup. I think they turned out pretty awesome even with the adjustments.

After discovering the Madonna song today I realized my playlist needs some work.

Here is a rough draft of my playlist for Fargo.

  1. Taio Cruz-Higher
  2. Lady Gaga-Marry the Night
  3. Madonna-Sorry, Jump, Get Together
  4. Calvin Harris ft. Ne-Yo-Let’s Go(starting song for either the race of mile 10)
  5. Rihanna-Where Have you Been
  6. Jazmine Sullivan-Bust the Windows
  7. Tank-I Hate You
  8. Lil Wayne- Right Above
  9. Annie Lennox- A Thousand Beautiful Things, Dance Vault Remix * This song has been almost on every sing race playlist since first introduced to me which oddly enough was before I started doing longer distances.
  10. Bridge Burning-Foo Fighters
  11. Freak-A-Leek-Petey Pablo

And that is where it starts, and it will end at the finish line Saturday, after I add another 20 plus songs to it.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Food, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 7 years later and other recent trends

  1. PushDumpFatButton says:

    Reblogged this on Push Dump Fat Button.

Leave a Reply

