The Beauty of Food

Today is day two of my 30×30 one week of vegan eating challenge. I’ve been using recipe ideas from Oh She Glows and Daily Garnish inspiring me into new combinations. Both have amazing recipes that are easy to follow and easy to make. They don’t use weird hard to find ingredients. Not every recipe is just tofu and lettuce. I won’t kid, it’s not always easy. It forces me to think about food, but in a positive way. I’ve been tracking my food on Spark People. This has two purposes, to help figure out how I eat and also how much protein I’m getting. I’ve been eating a lot of vegetables but not as much fruit. I’m also not eating as much wheat, though not really on purpose. It just helps me test out new foods and expanding what I eat.

There is one part of this that I hesitate with which is how and when do I share this. One of my favorite bloggers covered this very topic on her blog here. A friend of mine posted thisImage

And it really does summarize a lot of how I feel. It’s hard enough to be just a vegetarian that eats fish on occasion. What I really realized is that it’s going to be more about support and owning my choice. When I was at my parents this weekend, my choices when we went out to eat would have been just a bowl of iceberg lettuce. No dressing, nothing else on the menu would have been consider a vegan option. Granted this was a bar in Wisconsin, it’s not Austin, TX or Seattle. Eating out in Minneapolis provides plenty of vegan friendly options. This is more about realizing what to do in situations in which my options are narrowed to a bowl of lettuce. However, I don’t want to turn it into a huge deal. I am already demanding enough but I don’t want to be impossible. This new form of balance is something this week will test me.

What I love about this experiment is how I have to think about food. I love food. I get into a few meals that I make regularly and rotate between them. What this has done is push me past this. I’m researching ways to blend and make things new. Tonight I made quinoa with lentils in the rice cooker. Then I diced yellow pepper, tomato, cucumber and red onion on top of it. A dressing was formed with olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, black pepper, mustard and cider apple vinegar. Toss together and add chopped parsley and it’s a delightful dish.

The other things is the cooperation of the weather. When it becomes sunny with more daylight, it’s easy to enjoy various salads and vegetables come into season. Easily purchased from farmer’s markets or the store, the possibilities are only limited by your personal taste.

I still have a lot to discover through this week. Day 2, I would say it’s going to be an interesting process.

 

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Beauty of Food

Leave a Reply

