Changes in Routine

I love work out DVDs. Strength training provides many benefits  experts like to babble about constantly in magazines. Seriously, pick up Shape, Fitness, Women’s Health or even Runner’s World and  all will have at least one article about strength training. Training plans build in strength training days to your work outs.Work out DVDs give me a reason to strength train. Without them, I would never bust out a few bicep curls or squats. I don’t need a work out dvd to tell me to go run three miles. No, all I need for that is a good playlist and a little motivation. Strength training, we don’t have that relationship.

Believe it or not, you do not need to invest a ton of money into dvds or even a gym membership to successfully strength train. You just need to know how to use your resources. If you have a Netflix membership, use it. You can stream work out videos or request the dvd. This is how I tried out Jillian Michael’s Yoga Meltdown, only to have a melt down while doing it. It was three or four days after completing my first marathon. My legs were delicate. I had no business attempting anything Jillian was throwing down. I should have been popping advil, massaging my legs and eating nachos.

Another great resource for workout dvds is the interweb, or as some know it You Tube. Yes, while some content is probably pirated versions, you can also find legit sources. BeFit, features a wide variety of work out dvds for you to browse and attempt. I recently found a Denise Austin, yoga ab work out and I successfully completely Yoga Meltdown, without a meltdown. Diet.com also features a lot of tutorial based work out videos that will show you how to do a move or the top three moves of something. I use these to break up the boredom of my on hand dvds.

Amazon.com is another great source. You can rent work out videos from them through their instant video for 1.99. I did this with a core fusion video to see if I liked it before purchasing. I’m glad I did because I decided I didn’t like the video after all. Reviews from other customers are also entertaining to read. You can get a feel for if the video is going to give you what you are looking for with a dvd. I love this because face it, while 10 dollars isn’t a huge investment, it could be better spent if it’s just going to collect dust on a shelf before you eventually give it away.

Marshalls or another discount retailer is a great way to invest in a few basics to have on hand. I recently got a yoga mat for 7 dollars from Marshall’s. Sure, it’s a color I hate, but does it do what I need it, yes. I have got weights from Target and Amazon. The UPS guy did not lug that 16lb box to my front door, it was delicately left on the porch.

You do not need to make a huge investment to get started. You can do various strength moves without a yoga mat, weights or fancy clothes. Squats, push ups, lunges and sit ups all use the weight of your body.

 

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Workouts, Yoga and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

