Step up Your Workout

20120416-092729.jpg

My long run mapped out to a perfect 7.01 miles. Then while cruising along I thought there are steps coming up, I should reroute and run up them. Sure enough, there they were beckoning me, saying you can do it. You owe this to yourself, ignore that hill and go for this. So I did.

A few weeks ago, I hobbled out a 7 mile run. Nothing about that run was pleasant. This run looked like it may repeat that. The weather was windy, cloudy, drizzling rain started around mile three. Even as the weather tested my will I knew that this run was not going to repeat, I wouldn’t let it.  I’m a veteran of seven miles, and this distance would not put the kabosh on my long distance running. It was not going to let it kill the fun.  I looked at those stairs and said, yes, that’s exactly what this run needs, a challenge.

Up I went.

Don’t let past experiences hold you back from new challenges. When you become a slave to certain things, you miss opportunities as they are presented. I could have said no, I need to keep going on my route because if I don’t I won’t make my distance goal. It’s true, I didn’t run exactly 7 miles, I came up a bit short.  But, I got a better feeling of accomplishment by putting those stairs in the exact MIDDLE of my run, and felt strong after wards because it wasn’t just any run. This is what I love about running. Step off the path and find a new world of possibility.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
Image | This entry was posted in Life, Workouts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

