Sometimes It is Okay

Last weekend I should have been in Charleston, SC running the Cooper Bridge Run. It is a suspension bridge that you run over and it’s a 10k which is approximately 6.2 miles. I’ve done one previous bridge run in my running history. They are intense. The incline alone can take you out if you are not used to it. The wind whaps and assaults you. I wouldn’t call them the worse race you could enter, that to me is the warrior dash style obstacle course races. I avoid running in mud and fire for a reason. I would not recommend a bridge run to someone that wants to test out running races. It wasn’t the sheer fear of the race that prevented me from going. I had ever intention of running it when I signed up months ago. I thought it would be  great break from Minneapolis. Charleston in the spring is delightful. The temperatures are in the mid 70’s at the end of March, flowers in bloom and sun. All of these things are not found in Minneapolis. Though after this spring, I can’t make that claim because we’ve had all of those things. Instead, I walked away from this race because I decided the experience of being in Savannah for St. Patrick’s day this year meant more to me.

And that’s okay.

The decision to travel to the same area, Savannah and Charleston are about two hours apart for those of you not familar with the area, within two week period was just not possible for me. I didn’t have the vacation time at work, I have a dog and sadly, I’m not made of money. Even though I really wish and sometimes believe I am. The choice came down to experience. Both would provide opportunities that could not be found in Minneapolis. While Minneapolis has a lot of bridges, we don’t have suspension bridges expanding over the swamps/marches of rivers. Minneapolis does have a rather weak St. Patrick’s day experience that I could have done. However, it doesn’t have a 6 hour long parade, drinking in the streets and the opportunity to see people I haven’t seen in over two years. That was the biggest draw, the ability to reconnect and see people I haven’t seen since leaving Savannah.  Savannah won over Charleston because it was familar, it would be less expensive and it provided me with more experience.

Sometimes it’s okay to walk away from something. However, you have to be okay with what you are giving up when you walk away.

This morning when I read an apology letter from the organizers of the bridge run detailing how this years run was delayed and they were investigating it. I knew that I made the right decision. Even if that letter had never shown up, I would have still be fine in my choice. And that’s the big thing, knowing either way you are going to be fine.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Life, Workouts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

