End of the 5 by 5 Challenge

Yesterday, I successfully completed my five by five challenge. My sister forwarded me an email from one of her fitness gurus(mine is Jillian, her’s is a dude named Dustin) motivating people to push through winter by doing five works a week for five weeks. The 5×5 challenge motivated me to work out. People often wonder how someone finds time to work out. Women’s Health featured a spot about how to find time. It really baffled me how simple the tips were and yet how challenged we are to find time. Time, the precious resource that everyone cites as an excuse to not work out. I do understand being busy and overwhelmed with commitments. If you are just starting to work out finding an hour is challenging. You are forcing a change in routine.However, once you get past the hump, it becomes part of your routine. This does not happen overnight.Once, you get there though, it is amazing.

As predicted, the weather made working out last week challenging. We did not get a ton of snow but we did get what I call the slushy mix. Walking outside, the ground looked like someone poured a slushy out all over. I struggled with motivation this week. The good news is that I didn’t give up. I didn’t say oh well it’s week 5 and it doesn’t matter if I really finish this or not. I didn’t give it my all, but I did it.

  • Sunday: 3 mile run
  • Monday: rest day
  • Tuesday: Jillian 30 Day Shred level 1
  • Wednesday: Pilates/Yoga videos off Diet.com-total of 20 minutes
  • Thursday: 15 minutes of Killer Buns and Thighs
  • Friday: 10 push ups, 10 sideplank(each side) 10 crunches
  • Saturday: 3 mile run

I wish I would have gotten another run. I notice that I really love the energy release of running. It really affects my mood which I realized after 3-4 days of not running. This really surprised me because I’ve been struggling with motivating myself during runs. It is not a physical problem, it’s all mental. Looking at the total time on my playlist from leaving my house to arriving home was a total of 32 minutes. I’m pretty pleased with that considering it was 21 degrees with 22 mph winds yesterday. I had a few stops to break off ice chunks that formed on the heel of my shoe, traffic and a stop to take off my Yak traxs.

Playlist

  1. Beyonce-Why Don’t You Love me
  2. CeCe Pensiton-We Got a Love Thang
  3. Crazy P-Changes
  4. Electric Light Orchestra-Evil Woman
  5. Eminem-Talking’ 2 Myself
  6. Gin Blossoms-Found Out About You
  7. Goo Goo Dolls-Naked
  8. Jay Z- No Church in the Wild

 

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Life, Workouts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

