Working out-Day 1

As promised as part of the work out challenge series, I’m going to provide you with my running playlist and work out plan. I’ve done six half marathons and am currently training for my seventh.  There are several ways you can train for one. I used Hal Hidgon’s beginner’s plan for my first. Some races will offer you training plans and even group runs. Team Ortho offers them directly on their website for those of you in the Twin Cities area. You can find them through Runner’s World or Fitness as well. Really, the key is to finding a plan that you can balance with your life. I say this because when you first look at some of these plans, they are intimidating. Some weeks they ask you to run 25 miles. When your time is already precious, you are going to wonder where that time is found.

The key for my own self enlightenment around this was to break it down by the week, especially my first race. I did not focus on the total mileage but rather what I needed to do each day that week.  I would say I was successful in this 80% of the time. When I am training in the summer, I look at the weekly forecast. If it is going to be hot or rain is expected in the afternoon, I know I will have to get up early to fit in my run. Some people hate running at night, I hate running in the morning. But, I will force myself to do it if I know I really hate running in the rain. Seriously, wet shoes are disgusting on so many levels.

The other thing that has made me 100% successful in wanting to train for these races is finding someone to run it with you. It gives you accountability.This takes out the “It’s okay for me to skip this work out because I am not really sure if I will be ready for this race” excuse. Guess what, if someone else is traveling with you or counting on you, you will find yourself meeting those work out goals. Also, guess what, it’s fun to talk about your training with your new running buddy. I’ve bonded with several friends over running and my sister.  There is nothing better than coming in from a run, maybe even one where you just set a new mileage record and sending a text to brag about it. If that person doesn’t run, they may wonder why you are bragging. If they are training with you, they may think, crap I have to get off the couch and go.

A friend of mine recently took a challenge to not work out for two days. He hated it. He loathed that he couldn’t work out. No, he is not part alien or super creature, he has just trained himself to love work outs in the way others train themselves to love a hobby. It’s cruel to take things people love away. And while you are not there yet, you will be if you decide to stick with it. It is challenging. It is hard. It is, I won’t pretend like it’s easy.

Pinterest said it best.

The Playlist

  • Whitney Houston-Queen of the Night(CJ’s Single Edit)
  • Beyonce-End of Time
  • Foo Fighters-Burning Bridges
  • Foo Fighters-These Days
  • Janet Jackson-Pleasure Principle
  • Drake Ft Lil Wayne-The Motto
  • Donell Jones-U Know What’s Up
  • J Cole-Work Out
  • Madonna-Hung Up
  • Heavy D-Now That We Found Love
  • Pitbull ft Trina-Go Girl

 

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Workouts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

