Work it Out with Me

As a runner one of the most common questions I get is “what is on your running playlist”? Okay, the more common question is about what type of shoes I use, races I’ve done and other more relevant conversational topics. Really, the only person who asks me about my playlist is my BFF. That aside, I love the iTunes feature of celebrity playlist, although another confession, I have not looked in ages. Various work out magazines will ask their cover girl/guy what is their top work out songs. The truth is, we are all looking for the motivation, keeping us moving and at the right tempo. I will go into a race thinking I’ve made the best playlist of my life, only to discover at mile 7, it’s actually a really boring one. That doesn’t mean it wasn’t a good playlist. It just means like many moments in my life my past self didn’t know what future self wanted. Everyone has a different formula to music they want to listen to or what will motivate them.

I found it’s a combination of guilty pleasures, pop hits and other songs I just like because they let me zone out and sing along. Here is what currently lurks on my playlist in alphabetical order because that is how I have it organized.

  • Beyonce: End of Time
  • Big Sean: My Last
  • Bow Wow: Outta My System
  • Chris Brown: She Ain’t You
  • Depeche Mode: Policy of Truth
  • Drake: The Motto
  • Drake: Take Care
  • Fleetwood Mac: Little Lies
  • Flo Rida: Who Date Girl
  • Foo Fighters: The Best of You
  • Foreigner: Urgent
  • Fuel: Shimmer
  • Guster: Amsterdam
  • J Cole: Work Out
  • Lady Gaga: Paparazzi
  • Lupe Fiasco: Out of my Head
  • Missy Elliot: Lose Control
  • New Edition: If It Isn’t Love
  • RichGirl: He Ain’t With me Now(tho)
  • Rihanna: Push Up on Me, What’s my Name and We Found Love
  • Snoop Dogg: G Funk Intro
  • Trey Songz: Bottoms Up
  • Wham: Everything She Wants
  • Wiz Kahlifa: Roll Up
  • 2 Live Crew: Cougar

It is a random list that rotates from various artist but the basic formula stays the same. Sure, some of these songs I should not admit to owning in various social circles. Part of the beauty of your running list is that you excuse guilty pleasures because they are meant to be fun and light. They are not meant to make you cry and analyze the depths of the lyrics.  I assure you that Snoop Dogg was not doing such things while writing G Funk Intro, therefore neither should you. He was probably rolling a joint while talking to some of his crew, I don’t endorse that either. The point is enjoy your running list for the reasons that no one else has to understand but you.

 

 

 

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

