#6 Learn to Sew

This past Saturday I took a sewing class at Crafty Planet.  My friend, Jan, joined me for the beginners tote bag session. This idea took place shortly after we completed gun training together. There are just certain activities in life that you need a partner in crime. I considered sewing to be one them, Jan considered gun class to be one. Case in point, Thursday while at happy hour, I gushed excitement over my upcoming class. One coworker paused, looked at me and said I had no idea at how domestic you were. I’ve only heard you talk about your dog and travel previous to today. As with many things I know I shouldn’t admit out loud, like my love of the Golden Girls but it’s hard to contain because so many moments in life inspire a well laid comedic timing of a Golden girl, so it was with my upcoming craft. Jan was the perfect accomplice, a versatile crafter, she can embroider, bake and create with a ferocity that Martha Stewart would find admirable.

It was how I found myself showing up at 10:40a.m. slamming down a delicious scone from the bakery a few doors down, that I found Jan browsing fabric. After careful consideration and debate, we took our chosen fabrics and webbing to the counter. Then, it was time to take our recent purchases to the back for class. Our instructor laid everything out and was there to help us navigate the finer delicate points. One of my favorite moments was when I heard “JoAnn is so stingey with cutting, they never give you extra, it’s to the centimeter” It took me a solid 15-30 seconds to realize they were talking about the fabric store and not say a worker. The class was scheduled for 3 hours but it took under that. It is a go at your own pace module. Jan was much more efficient and speedy than I. But I blame that on my take no prisoners and make mistakes to make it more entertaining philosophy. I know that my perfectionist theory works against me so I off set my lack of skill with humor. It works, and it helps me feel better about asking for help. I think this is what helps make women successful and why we can stop for directions. Ain’t no shame in that game ladies!

As they say, the proof is in the pudding. So the pictures below are proof that my skills while still a step above incompetent, I did indeed sew a tote.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

