When Enough is Enough

There are various times when we decide enough. Reality TV took of with a slew of shows where people cannot stop themselves. A&E Hoarders features people that cannot let go of materials. The amount and what they hoard varies on the episode, but most are a combination of trash that they consider their “treasure”.  We probably all have a level of clutter within our homes, but when you do not say enough, it becomes hoarding.

NBC and A&E both have shows about extreme weigh loss. The Biggest Loser transforms obese people through extreme diet and exercise changes into healthy weights.

There are a variety of shows dedicated to other extremes people take in order to achieve something. But from the perspective of good television versus teaching lessons they never achieve the same goal. For instances, the Bad Girls Club or Jersey Shore are both shows about extreme behavior. Where one of the cast members is always out to out shine the other with their extreme behavior. Then we decide this behavior is endorsed through book deals and other product placement.

Which makes me wonder, where do we learn enough? If our pop culture is our current role model. It would either make me regret I wasn’t a teen mom, or aspire to go completely into a ridiculous level of behavior that achieves…well what exactly does it achieve?

There are constant messages that we are bombarded with about what we should want, how much we want, what we need and what it tells others about us.  How do we process through the noise and decide what we want and when it’s enough.Only we can determine the right balance for our life. Some people are perfectly fine with the basics. They strive for a simplified life. Others like to have options and take on the motto, the more the merry. But how do you decide what is the right balance for you? I am in the process of determining this mix for my own sanity.

Here is where I am starting, first ask yourself the following questions.

1. Do I feel there are enough options to enable me to do what I want?

2. Do I feel overwhelmed with what I do have?

3. Am I holding on to things for emotional over functional reasons?

4. Did I have to throw it away before I could use it?

5.  Does it have a purpose?

This is my first step of clarifying what it is that I have and if I need it. If you are willing to challenge the comforts around you then  you may open other possibilities you didn’t even know where there. The balance will come when you know the extremes and how to avoid them. Unless, you like the extremes, then the more the merrier.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

