Where Life Takes You

I wanna make love right now, now, now, Wish we never broke up Akon blared as the taxi wound through the narrow Indian streets. Inches from building walls, inches from animals sauntering at their own pace, inches from people, the taxi maintained control winding around the chaos. I looked over at my friend Carrie bewildering, leaning in close I asked “What is going on? Who are we? Carrie

burst out laughing, looked at me through her laughter and said “WHY ARE WE NOT ON CAMERA?” It was our first night in Udaipur, India. After 24 hours of travel we made it to our destination. Tired, dehydrated, and our bodies confused, we had spent the last 8 hours sleeping off the jet lag. The taxi came to a stop at the restaurant, we were the first ones there of the wedding party.While we waited for the wedding party to arrive, sipping at a drink, we could not stop laughing at what just happened for the last twenty minutes. Carrie asked me to join her in India because she wanted a travel buddy. Her friend Kate invited her to attend their wedding. I agreed. I had no idea what I was agree to until we stepped foot in India.

The roads, the space, the trash, the people, everything was different and not just because I was in a foreign land. It was out of my control. The beauty of fabrics, architecture contrasting against the poverty everywhere. It was the first time I saw someone burning trash to stay warm. It was the first time I’ve been surrounded by animals without an owner but completely at peace. But you never know where life will take you, until you go.

 

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

