Patience

Patience is the act of an ability or willingness to suppress restlessness or annoyance when confronted with delay(dictionary.com). If we look to cultural references,  one of the most famous lines about patience is love is patient (First Corinthians).  Patience as a virtue is something Americans need to work on according to experts. As the recession continues we hear how our inability towards patience sunk us. It’s just not to our own selves that we lack patience. We lack it with politicians, cultural icons(Beyonce finally popped out that kid!), fellow drivers, and just about anything annoying us at a particular moment. Seriously, is this bus late or is it just taking it’s sweet time?! My favorite road rage expression is when someone takes as long as  I think possible to turn or do some act of driving I simply scream “WHAT DO YOU WANT/NEED A FUCKING INVITATION?” Let’s face it, patience is something our blood pressure wishes we would learn.

I am not by nature a patient person. If I were, I doubt I would have the above issue with road rage. My annoyance list would be dramatically decreased.  It might help explain why I admire it in other people. They are just sitting there, they don’t even look upset, I think to myself. Patience is constantly being tested with the “I want”.  Impulsive is another world that is used for the urge. The two are at constant war. I want to be skinny but I don’t have the patience to wait the 12 weeks it will take my body to adjust to it. I want to go on vacation but I don’t want the patience to earn the vacation or money to pay for it. In many ways, you can teach someone how to do something. If you don’t teach them patience to wait for the result, it really doesn’t matter what you taught them.  If they can’t fight the impulse, they will sacrifice something else to get the result when they want it. This for many is a downward spiral. Others, go to another extreme, they just keep having patience but they never reward themselves with what they were waiting for, they just keep waiting.

It is with balance that we learn these lessons. Every morning I wake up and I think “Lord, give me the patience and ability to appreciate the beauty of this day”.  My other favorite is “Lord grant me the serenity and calm of this day.”

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

