Now work it out

Work out motivation comes in many channels and forms. The key is finding what combination works best for you. I’ve found it’s a combination of vanity, mental strength and accomplishment. Vanity in that I love how my clothes fit when I am working out. Mental strength in that when I finish a certain work out I feel like I can do anything. I am strong enough to do THAT, I can do this. Accomplishment in that I now know what I am capable of and can do if I allow myself. All three of these tie together and without one component the other while still important is not as relevant.

My friend recently sent me a race link to a 5k called the Mustache March Run. Races are one way I stay consistent with running. If  I know that I am going to do a race, I will work out. I reward myself with races. The entrance fee will vary as the distance. Yet, I still travel for them. I wake up at 4a.m. for them. I push others into doing them with me. I do it because I know it will let me reach the combination. Your  combination may be different and likely will be. One thing is certain it will help you feel better about yourself.

One thing you will notice is that I don’t mention a certain weight or size. I don’t like using weight as a measurement of health. I saw this because I am within a healthy BMI. If you are not, you should work towards getting to one, even if it is on the high end of it. There are several medical reasons for this, not just the quest of skinny. Skinny people can be unhealthy as well. The important thing is that you are working out and strengthening your body, not starving it. Fitting into a certain size pants is not a guarantee of health. I have been various sizes within a healthy BMI. I have weighed less but still had wider hips than I do now. Health is not about a number on the scale or your jeans.

So get moving, get shaking, but do it for your own reasons and health.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Workouts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

