Planning out resolutions

Resolutions are not a friend of mine. I generally avoid them like goals. I find them to be a nagging presence of things not yet done. Some find this motivational, I find it depressing. Goals put limitations. This may not make sense to you. You may think goals are motivational. That is fine. I am simply on the opposite spectrum. I am not surprised by this, as I’ve come to learn more things about myself through various personality tests. Strengthfinders is a book based on your strengths, it is used for work. The theory is that you learn what they are and your boss helps mold projects and feedback around them. My number one is adaptability. It basically means you go with the flow. I believe this is true around all things including planning. I plan flexible goals that can be changed with my shifting interests. Knowing this about myself is incredibly useful in finding ways to motivate myself. Three of my 30 by 30 goals revolve around fitness.

Taking an idea from Pinterest I am going to start a workout reward jar. Every time I work out I get to put in a dollar. This money I can then use towards whatever I want. It will work in two ways. I will want to work out because it means the faster I will get towards a sizable cash sum that can be used towards something.  The second is that I will learn to be patient about how to reward myself. I will have to plot and find purpose around the reward. If I use $5 dollars right away that means a larger ticket item  will have to wait even longer.

An interesting mix to the experiment, will it provide enough incentive or will I give it up after a few weeks because it isn’t accumulating fast enough?

 

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

