Coupon This

I coupon, yes, I even consider it a hobby. I do not have a secret stockpile of 47 bottles of vitamin water, a wall of toilet paper, or years of candy stashed away. While that sounds rather romantic I keep my stockpile boring, tame, in comparison. Sure, I may have 10 razors and 15 toothbrushes give or take on what season it is here in Minnesota.  Moving made me realize that I likely have a year supply of feminine products stashed.  They let me get toothbrushes for .19 cents or less. I may have even overpaid for the damn things.

What I don’t like about couponing is what Extreme Couponing, a popular show on TLC, I assume it’s popular because the Mom Blogs, as I call them, are always talking about it. For all I know, there are 15 people in America watching the show. I have watched one episode of it. It appalled me. I do not understand WHY  YOU WOULD NEED 47 BOTTLES OF MUSTARD? How much mustard is your family eating? However, my main complaint is how the show has affected my way of couponing. Gone are the glorious days of multiple deals and generous coupons being offered by companies. I rarely see a $1.00/1 item but now they are bundling it into a $1.00/3 or the most heinous example of this is the latest Proctor and Gamble insert having .25/3 Puffs. Really? Proctor and Gamble (P&G) is a company that owns brands such as a Tide, Clariol, Charmin, Puff, Herbal Essence, and other big names that you are familiar with and use. I mean why even waste the paper and ink printing that because it’s not even worth the 8 cents of savings. My favorite is the generous Charmin coupon, that every P&G booklet I hope and wish is still there, the coveted .25 cents off any Charmin. I don’t know what those bears are thinking but I hope some day they stop being so stingy with their coupon values. Extreme couponing did not cause all of this. The Charmin bears always were stingy bastards with their coupons.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

