Traveling with NPR as the Soundtrack

I drive frequently between the Twin Cities and other Midwest locales, mostly Wisconsin. My family lives there and frankly it’s a gorgeous state. My complaints towards the state range between the ability of people to drive on I- 94/90 and the lack of public rest stops. Seriously, one every 78 miles is not sufficient. Even Iowa manages to squeeze one out about every 45 miles. That is acceptable, it gives you the ability to say not at this time but then when your bladder is causing you great pain,  while you curse that decision, the rest stop sign appears. This is never the case in Wisconsin. You are always praying that some how despite being caught behind someone going 68mph in the left lane, those last 55 miles have disappeared and soon the rest stop will be there.  A saving grace is the frequent Kwik Trips that dot the interstate. If you stop, they also stock a wide variety of snacks, my favorite the cheesy bread sticks. However, if you are not looking to gain 15lbs from your weekend drive, stick to the infrequence rest stops with “scenic” overlooks. They also feature signs about various state history points. My topic of conversation today, passenger pigeons. I didn’t read the sign, just the title. The only bird that holds my attention is owls. They live in parliaments.

One of my favorite parts about these drives is listening to NPR. I start off with MPR while I leave the Twin Cities and then switch the station over to a Wisconsin based. This week I learned about a Minneapolis based rap group Villa  Rosa.  Absolutely loving it and everything that I heard. There was also a fantastic feature with Ingrid Michaelson. Another great story was with the author who wrote “I Think I Love you”, Allison Pearson. She’s also the author of the author turned move “How Does She Do It?”. The whole interview can be found on the Fresh Air page on NPR. My favorite quote from the story.

“And I say in the novel: This was the great delusion of our age, that love could be held waiting in a holding pattern like airlines above an airport, waiting for you to call in the plane until you were good and ready. But love and motherhood and pregnancy will not wait endlessly. “- Allison Pearson

It really put a visual in my head that not everything is something you can determine and queue at your own will. Some things are meant to be when you heart is telling you, gently whispering now.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

