Baking Up

Last night, as the weather here in Minneapolis adjusted to fall, I fired up the oven. As a true city dweller, my apartment lacks A/C. Really, there are about four days when you need it. The more important device for a comfortable temperature is heat.  The weather changing, made turning on the oven bearable. As my kitchen heated up, a delightful cool breeze filtered in providing a much needed relief.  I also felt inspired to get cooking as my scale and wallet were feeling fatter and lighter, but not in the right combination. Setting about to reverse this trend, I decided to make my own food. More control over ingredients, less process, and more delight, all symptoms I enjoy about cooking.

I adapted the recipe available here for delicious vegan strawberry rhubarb muffins. When I say adapted I mean I used applesauce instead of oil. I also gave it a cinnamon, sugar, walnut crumb topping. Also, I filled all 12 muffin tins and had excess, a wee little loaf was born.

As the muffins were baking I started making calzones. I googled a pizza dough recipe. I like the versions that require low rise time. The best part is that if you want to give them rise time, the yeast will still do the trick. It just isn’t required. I threw two gloves of garlic smashed in a press to my dough, a delicious future suprise. Inside my dough I added, green peppers, spinach, mushrooms, tomatoes, fresh basil and mozzerella cheese. My sauce is very simple, buy one can of tomato sauce that has oregeno, basil and garlic added to it. It cost me .73 and was the perfect amount needed.

Next on my list was a kale and white bean soup from Martha Stewart.com It is rather tasty and simple to make. The most effort I put into it was chopping the onion.Take the lazy route of a food processor and this problem is eliminated. It has a strong onion flavor. If you are not a fan of such things, this is not a soup for you.

Boiled eggs rounded out my night.  Overall, it was a successful use of two hours included clean up time.

 

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

