Zucchini Pancakes

This morning while scouring my dishes from the previous few days, I thought about breakfast. I spent a few minutes reading runner’s world earlier and still had this black bean bread and healthy eat tips on my mind. At first I thought I was going to make muffins. Then I realized I don’t really have anything on had that would work well as a muffin. Then I went to the fridge  and discovered the bag of shredded zucchini I had from earlier this week. I decided to make pancakes with it.

Completing my rebellion, I decided to not even look up a recipe but just throw items in a bowl. I know how to make things. I’ve been baking with my mom since I was old enough to hold a spoon. I think she enjoyed the free labor. She was making meals for 6 people and an extra set of tiny hands probably helped. Really though, my parents were into teaching life skills like cooking, cleaning, mowing the lawn, doing your laundry as soon as you were able to do it without destroying the house or yourself.  When it came to making the pancakes this morning I knew I could put something together if I just did it pieces. I decided to make it vegan. I’ve been a vegetarian for four years. I am currently trying to reduce the amount of dairy I’m eating. Without getting into food politics, I will say it has helped clear up my skin. It has made me think about meals and what I am eating. All of these things are good and encouraging.

Here is what I threw into the bowl.

1 cup shredded zucchini

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup non sweetened applesauce

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp ground flax seed

4 tbsp hemp protein

1 cup whole wheat flour

enough almond milk to moisten and mix. I didn’t measure this part, I just poured it in until I got the consistency I wanted. It should be similar to muffin mix or a cake batter consistency.

Then I poured patty size into a hot greased pan and let it cook on each side until golden brown. Then I poured a maple syrup on top and enjoyed. I knew that I was going to eat it with syrup which is why I left out any sweetener(sugar, honey, agave) in the mix.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

