Kale, The Other Green Leaf

Thanks to a Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30 recipe, I picked  up kale at the Farmer’s Market this week. That recipe while delicious did leave me with kale to use. Kale is a vegetable I don’t know much about beyond it’s a super food. Since becoming a vegetarian four years ago I realized that the key to a diet is variety. I never gave kale much thought because I never saw recipes including it. I had no desire to purposely seek out recipes for kale. However, when I stumble upon this Jillian recipe it was the same month I read about kale in O magazine. THEN, I came across it AGAIN in Women’s Health. I took the sign and spent the two dollars on the brunch. Tonight, I gave kale a chance in a smoothie. Some refer to this as a green monster. I have no desire to call it that. Maybe because my three year old niece is into Sesame Street and monsters make me think of that. Can you imagine the horror of eating Oscar?! I’d just like to think of it as a smoothie. Smoothies are good, they don’t conjure up images from my childhood.

Here’s what I threw in the food processor. I’m not fancy enough to have a blender that runs from my bicycle energy. Well, and because I don’t own a bike.

  • 1 0% Fage plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 kale leaf with the big stem removed.
  • 1/4 cup pineapple tidbits from Trader Joe’s
  • 1/4 cup froze sliced unsweetened strawberries
  • 1 frozen mango slice
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup

Blend that baby up, by using frozen fruit you don’t need to add ice and it helps the consistency stay thick. If it is too thick, add some water or milk to thin it out. You can also use honey if you don’t have maple syrup handy. Yogurt is also interchangeable to what flavors you want/like.  Just be careful to not add in too many artificial flavorings or sugars. Greek yogurt will give it a protein boost. If you don’t like it, you can use milk (almond, soy,rice or cow) with a protein powder. Fruit can also be mixed and matched to what you like. Try it, give it a go! I really enjoyed the combination above but as you’ll find out, kale doesn’t blend smoothly, unless you have a blender bike.

If you want to read more about the Green Monster go here.

About Minnehappilos

I am a lot of things. Dog owner, runner, traveler, worrier, feminist, rap enthusiastic, but mostly a contradiction that only a child in born in the 80's could represent. This blog is not a manual, just a funny read.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

